Why sharing your cookies is a bad idea

I wrote this post a good while back , and I just noticed that this has been sitting in my drafts . Went through it . While I might not agree with ALL of what is being said here , I still stand by what I said 🙂

People saying being selfish is a bad thing . Frankly , I don’t see anything immoral or unethical in saving your own lily white ass when there is trouble lurking . You people put in too much emphasis on trust and loyalty . Look at the following scenario . I have a gun pointing at you . Two meters away , I have the person you love the most in the world . I have a single bullet in my gun , and my accuracy is as good as a professional sniper .Only one of makes out of this scene alive , and won’t have to live with the consequences .  I give you the choice . I either shoot the person you love the most , the person who is your *soulmate* and all that . Or I drive a metal cylinder right through your brain .

 

what would you do ? Lets face it , as you’re not actually experiencing that above mentioned scenario , you’d be all coy , romantic and heartfelt and say you’d sacrifice your life for the person you love . But lets face it yet again , all that is horseradish mixed with wasabi . You’d save your own damn ass , thats right . “Screw love, survival matters ” is what you’d say , cuttting away all the hollywood melodrama . So in a sense , I knew your soulmate better than you did all his life , eh ? As they say , things are all hunky dory as long as the gravy train is running just fine , but once the gravy runs out , hell , forget the gravy , even if there is a glitch in the procedure , you’d jump ship .

 

This concept might not find acceptance as it tends to clash with the traditional societal rules of human compassion and all that . Mate , concern for another human is valid only when YOU are safe . If you’re down in the dumps yourself, why would you even bother helping out another person . If you’re okay and well oiled up , only then will the concept of helping another comes into the picture .

As the joker says , “They’re only as good as the world allows them to be. I’ll show you. When the chips are down, these uh, these “civilized people,” they’ll eat each other. See, I’m not a monster. I’m just ahead of the curve.”

 

Also , if you’ve seen The Dark Knight , when the joker burns up his part of the money with the Russian\Chechen guy around , he tells this , ” Why don’t we cut you up into little pieces and feed you to your pooches? Hm? And then we’ll see how loyal a hungry dog really is” . I love that part , because it tells you loyalty is just a facade . As simple as that . Heck , even if dogs , the most faithful animal on the planet , is still an animal at heart , then how do expect homo sapiens , the specie with a brain advanced to scheme , trick , lie and deceive , to remain trust worthy ?

 

So thats my basic premise , in a nutshell . Get selfish , think about your own ass, thats darwinism at its finest . Survival is primary , everything else is secondary . Listen to what the world has to say , give it a patient hearing , nod your head and give a toothy grin , and go on with whatever the fuck you were doing before.

And please , bury the thought that you might be wrong just because the others don’t agree with what you have to say

 

 

Leave a Reply

